Dave headshotDave Eliason, President

Dave is a fourth-generation commercial cattle rancher headquartered near Snowville, Utah. He and his wife Gaylynn and their five children run cattle on both Bureau of Land Management (BLM) and Forest Service allotments.

He has served as president of the Utah Cattlemen’s Association; president of Box Elder County Cattlemen’s Association; and, for 28 years, president of Curlew Cattlemen’s Association. He was a member of Utah State advisory board for the BLM; director and chair of the Utah Beef Council; director and chair of the Box Elder County ASCS/FSA board; chair of the Utah State ASCS/FSA Board, appointed by President George W. Bush; and a member of the Governor’s Agriculture Advisory Board, appointed by Governor Gary Herbert.

Dave served on the board of directors and on various committees for NCBA. He attended Brigham Young University and earned a degree in Agriculture Economics. Dave also was a missionary in Australia for two years and was a lay congregational leader for five years for his local church.


Bob Skinner PhotoBob Skinner, Vice President

Bob and his wife Karen live in Jordan Valley, Oregon, where they raise cattle with their family—including their grandchildren, who represent the seventh generation on the ranch. On both local and national levels, Bob has been heavily involved in livestock and civic affairs, serving on numerous local, regional and state advisory boards and committees. In 2002, as the president of Oregon Cattlemen’s Association, he joined a round-table briefing for President George W. Bush on the state of the livestock industry. Bob has been a director or delegate of the Public Lands Council since 1990, is a charter member of the Board of Directors for the Western Resources Legal Center (WRLC); has won leadership and production awards from the Oregon Cattlemen’s Association and the Red Angus Association of America. Bob also holds leadership positions of importance outside of the livestock industry, including county advisory committees, the local ambulance board, the rural rangeland fire association, various local and university school boards and committees, and others. He earned his B.A. in Business Administration at the College of Idaho in Caldwell and holds a commercial pilot’s license, which allows him to fly a small plane over the ranch’s BLM and deeded ground to check water lines.


nh_dec-2016Niels Hansen, Secretary/Treasurer

Niels is a third generation rancher from Rawlins Wyoming. The family ranch was started in the 1890’s as a sheep and remount horse ranch. Over the years the family has had to change from raising horses to raising cattle and in 1984 made the final change from a cow/calf, sheep operation to a cow/calf/ yearling operation but the ranch continues to be totally family owned and operated.

Working cooperatively with the University of Wyoming and the BLM, Niels has been a leader in developing and advocating for Cooperative Rangeland Monitoring. With over 20 years of monitoring data from the family ranch, he has shown the benefits of good land and livestock management for the land, the business, and the community.

Niels has served on a number of boards and committees at the state and local level including serving as an officer and member of the Christ Lutheran Church, the Rawlins/Carbon County Airport Board, and the Rawlins Search and Rescue where he uses his private pilot’s license. He has served as the Chairman of the Rawlins and the Wyoming State Grazing Board. He was on the founding board and served 10 years on the Wyoming Animal Damage Management Board working to reduce conflicts with wild and domestic animals and the public. Niels served as the Chairman of the Wyoming Stock Growers Association (WSGA) Federal Lands committee through the Department of Interior Reform 94 effort and also Chaired the WSGA Wildlife committee. He has been a long time member of the WSGA Board of Directors and served one term as the Region 5 Vice-President. Niels will complete his term as President of the Wyoming Stock Growers in June.

In 2000 the ranch received the BLM Rangeland Management Stewardship Award. In 2001 they were named the Little Snake River Conservation District Cooperator of the Year award recipient and in 2004 was co-winner of the Wyoming Stock Growers Association Stewardship Award. Niels won the Wyoming Department of Agriculture – Excellence in Agriculture Award in 2007 and was inducted into the Wyoming Agriculture Hall of Fame in 2011.







Board of Directors

Every national association affiliate and western state member has a Board member representative. Contact your “state livestock association” for contact information for the below Board members.

Jim Chilton – Arizona
Mike Byrne – California
Tim Canterbury – Colorado
Darcy Helmick- Idaho
Vicki Olson – Montana
Keith Winter – North Dakota
Ron Cerri – Nevada
Matt McElligott – Oregon
Scott Edoff – South Dakota
Jordan Willis– Utah
Daryl Asmussen -Washington
Keith Hamilton – Wyoming

Brenda Richards (ID) – Immediate Past President
John Helle (MT) – American Sheep Industry Association
Bob Harshbarger (WY) – Association of National Grasslands
Rex Sacco (UT) – National Cattlemen’s Beef Association