PLC Announces New President And Executive Committee For 2020-2022

WASHINGTON (Sept. 25, 2020) – Following a successful virtual annual meeting, the Public Lands Council (PLC) announced Wyoming rancher Niels Hansen will lead the organization as the new president and Steve Osguthorpe will join the PLC Executive Committee as the organization’s secretary.

Hansen is a third-generation rancher from Rawlins, Wyoming. His and his family operate a cow/calf/yearling operation on the high desert of Wyoming and have worked with the University of Wyoming and the Bureau of Land Management for over 20 years to monitor and collect data to support good management of the land and natural resources.

“After being involved in PLC for many years, I am honored to serve as PLC’s president for the next two years,” said PLC President Niels Hansen. “The public lands grazing industry is at a pivotal point – we have the opportunity to highlight the many ways grazing benefits landscapes, wildlife, and communities across the country. I am proud to be a part of building a stronger future for my children, grandchildren, and the lands we have carefully managed for generations,”

“My good friend, Bob Skinner, passed the reins of PLC to me yesterday after successfully serving as president for two years. Under Bob’s leadership, our industry has moved to a better spot on several issues: ESA, NEPA and Waters of the United States, to name a few. As Bob returns to his home to enjoy his family and his ranch, he has left us all in a stronger position to move forward. Thank you to Bob and his family for their years of service and leadership to industry.”

Steve Ogsuthorpe is a Utah rancher and has been a leader in the public lands ranching community for many years, including serving as a member of the PLC Board of Directors as the affiliate representative from the American Sheep Industry Association.

“I am so excited to see Steve join the PLC leadership team for the next two years. He brings decades of experience, innovative approaches to industry challenges, and unmatched dedication to the public lands ranching community,” said Kaitlynn Glover, PLC Executive Director.

Hansen and Osguthorpe join Mark Roeber, Brenda Richards, and Bob Skinner on the Executive Committee through 2022. Hansen will serve as President, Roeber as Vice President, Richards will continue in her role as Treasurer, and Skinner will transition into the role of Immediate Past President.

Comments are closed.