PLC Honors Awardees from WY and CA, Appoints New Officers at Close of Annual Meeting

Cody, Wyo. (September 2, 2022) – Last week, during their 54th Annual Meeting, the Public Lands Council (PLC) honored two individuals who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to responsible stewardship of public lands. In addition to their colossal bank of ecological knowledge, both honorees share an unwavering commitment to fostering productive relationships between grazing permittees and local agency staff.

Cheryl Newberry was selected for the 2022 Friend of PLC Award. Newberry resides in Rawlins, Wyoming and has served as a Rangeland Management Specialist for the Bureau of Land Management’s Rawlins field office for more than 30 years.

“In both attitude and professional achievement, Cheryl epitomizes the best and highest potential of federal lands stewardship. Over her decades of service, Cheryl has made an indelible mark on the health of the landscapes we live and work on in south central Wyoming. I have no doubt that her work, and the work of the numerous staff she has trained and mentored over the years, has made an immense positive impact on our risk of catastrophic fire, the resiliency and accessibility of our water sources, and the ability to address the threat of invasive grasses. However, what truly differentiates Cheryl is not just her expertise, but her philosophy. While some in her position may avoid collaboration due to the work it makes for them, Cheryl embraces the opportunities that a collaborative approach provides, and is willing to shoulder the work it takes to maintain those relationships. She approaches grazing permit administration as a genuine partnership of equals, and her approach yields better results for permittees, the land, wildlife, and our local economy. She engenders trust and collaboration because she is consistently open, accessible, and honest in her dealings with everyone. It is my privilege to honor Cheryl with this award and to extend our gratitude for her service to the industry,” said PLC President Niels Hansen.

During the closing banquet, PLC also recognized Dr. Dave Daley with the 2022 PLC Presidential Award. Daley ranches on the Plumas National Forest and for decades has given his time to agriculture education at Colorado State University and Chico State. Daley currently serves as the Administrator of the Paul L. Byrne Memorial University Farm in addition to his various leadership roles as Chairman of the California Cattlemen’s Foundation, immediate past chair of the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association’s federal lands policy committee, and several historic roles in local and state industry associations.

“It is difficult to think of another permittee who has given more of their time, energy, and personal mettle to the advancement and evolution of our industry than Dave Daley,” said PLC Vice President Mark Roeber. “He is relentless in his pursuit of the facts, a true champion for science-based land management and flexible, ecosystem-specific strategies. Dave’s dedication to science-based management is anything but dispassionate. He couples his intense knowledge on the issues with a vivid and sincere commitment to advocacy. He is a masterful storyteller and a masterful educator. His voice brings clear and thoughtful truths to those who may not otherwise have reason to encounter federal lands ranching, and his candid approach has given this industry new platforms to reach those who can meaningfully invest in this way of life.  He has taught and mentored countless young people for the better, shaping the future of our industry in a way that few ever do. PLC is honored to present him with this award.”

In addition to these awards, PLC closed their 54th Annual Meeting by appointing a new team of volunteer leaders for the year ahead. These officers will lead PLC’s advocacy, education, and outreach efforts in Washington, D.C. and across the West.

              President – Mark Roeber (CO)

Vice President – Tim Canterbury (CO)

Secretary – Ron Cerri (NV)

Treasurer – Brenda Richards (ID)

Immediate Past President – Niels Hansen (WY)

Comments are closed.